AFME was formed in November 2009 through the merger of the London Investment Banking Association (LIBA) and the European arm of the Securities Industries and Financial Markets Association (SIFMA).

The merger also saw AFME integrate the following former affiliates:

AFME's first Chairman was Gaël de Boissard, Head of Global Securities at Credit Suisse. Frédéric Janbon, Global Head of Fixed Income at BNP Paribas, was announced as AFME Chairman-elect on 15 July 2013, taking up the role at the end of September the same year. In September 2015, Michael Cole-Fontayn, BNY Mellon’s Executive Vice President, succeeded Mr Janbon as Chairman.

The Board of Directors comprises 20 other senior leaders from the major global financial institutions - with Non-executive Director, Eddy Wymeersch making up the AFME Board of Directors.

Copyright © 2009, 2010, 2011,2012 AFME. All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use